You are browsing the archive for 2016.

Chairman’s Choice 2016

May 9, 2016 in Crewe PS news


For over ten years now our chairman has made his “Chairman’s Choice” award during presentation evening. Our awards naturally tend to be for successes in our competitions and just two of them; Chairman’s Choice and the Ron Smith Cup, are in recognition of other qualities. The Ron Smith Cup is awarded for special creativity displayed during the year and will be featured next week. The chairman makes his award to a member who has distinguished themselves during the year; either for their work or service to the club. This year the award went to Kath Hill who has gained her first distinction and who has established herself as one of the club’s most accomplished and talented workers.

The certificate actually shows one of Kath’s pictures from last season for no better reason than it is one of the chairman’s favourite pictures!

Print Annual 2016 – Robert Millin DPAGB EFIAP/g EPSA BPE5 LRPS

March 11, 2016 in Crewe PS news


We were privileged to have Rob Millin with us to judge the annual print competition. Robert has been remarkably successful in national and international competitions as his distinctions attest and he is well used to picking the winners, he also knew that all the work had been judged before and so he made quite quick work of choosing our winning prints. Afterwards he said how impressed he had been with the quantity of good work that had been placed before him, especially in the monochrome section, so that augers well for the “Five Towns” competition in September (if it takes place this year!).

We all knew that we had some very good prints this year, they have already been in our League competitions and tried out against Alsager, Whitchurch, MCCC, the L&CPU Knock-Out and L&CPU Club Annual. There were quite a few with the potential of gaining the title of “Print of the Year”.

Congratulations to Paul Hill, Wallace Baxter, Martin McGing, Peter Hrebien, Vicky Hrebien, Bob Brown, Ralph Browes, Kath Hill, Peter Robinson and Ray Hill who gained awards.

The winners of the three section appear above; True Grit (Mono) by Wallace Baxter, Red Grouse Calling (Nature) by Paul Hill and Miss De Bauch (Colour General) by Martin McGing.

Print of the Year went to Paul Hill with Red Grouse calling.

Full results are here.

Skip to toolbar